Tiffin Calvert
Football History
As compiled by Calvert High School

Aloysius "Wishy" Kramer began as the first football coach in 1924 and later established a football dynasty which spanned 21 years. The first football season consisted of four games, and Kramer relinquished the reigns to Alfred Meier, coming back in the 1929 season. While the Northwestern Parochial Conference was short-lived, Calvert took the final football crown in 1931, recording ten consecutive victories and became the number one scoring team in the state, running up 387 points to the opponents' 10.

In 1932, the Senecas took the first of five LSN football crowns. Kramer finished his distinguished football career with a record of 107-50-6, the winningest coach in Calvert history to date.

In 1949, Karl "Zip" Zalar took over the football coaching duties for nine years, producing an 8-1 record in 1953.

As the 1959-60 school year opened, Calvert became a new member of the SBC. Coach Paul Miletti, with one season under his belt, greeted the SBC with three strong teams who took league titles in 1959, 1961 and 1965. The '59 crown was shared with St. Joe while Calvert won the others outright. Coach Miletti's 1961 squad posted the first undefeated season in Calvert football history, logging a 9-0-1 record and nabbing 19th spot in the state ratings. The second undefeated season came in 1965 when the Senecas posted a 7-0-2 record under Miletti. Gene Nara took over when Miletti stepped down in 1968, posting a 15-4-1 record. He was followed by Peter Veneziano for one year and David Hartman for two years. Frank Savarese guided the first football team back in the SBC in 1973 and Roger "Buzz" Kirkhart began his first season at the helm in 1974. Kirkhart produced two STATE CHAMPIONSHIPS in 1980 and 1981 and five SBC titles from 1977 to 1981.

Bob Olwin replaced Kirkhart in 1985 and produced an MAL title and regional qualifier in 1986. Terry Mark took over the reigns in 1989, producing a 7-3 slate in 1991. After six seasons Mark resigned and Toby Hammond took over in 1995. In 1998, Hammond's fourth year, the Senecas went 10-0 in the regular season, to become the first undefeated/untied team in Calvert Football history. The Senecas were rated 4th in the AP poll and reached the final four in the state playoffs, losing to eventual state champ Delphos St. John's. Hammond was named Division VI State Coach of the Year. In 1999, the Senecas again went 12-1, 10-0 regular season, with a second straight MAL Championship. Calvert was ranked #2 in the final AP Poll, before a regional runner-up finish.